Architect of Decay.

Change (v):  
1. To make the form, nature, content, future course, etc., of (something) different from what it is or from what it would be if left alone.

Isn’t it rather odd how things change?

Not only do they change, but they change quickly.

Because I am typically not a fan of change, or at least when the change blindsides me, I have decided to do a little research on this subject.

I googled “How to handle change” and hundreds upon hundreds of results popped up including:

How YOU Can Handle Change Better, 5 Ways to Better Handle Change, 10 Way to Handle Change Making it Easier, How to Handle Change Gracefully, and the list goes on…

These websites full of wisdom suggested things like “Instead of trying to prevent change, embrace change”, “Just get used to change, it’s going to keep happening” and “Look for the silver lining in the change”. This online therapy continued to suggest things that simply sound good on paper, but don’t actually help in real life.

The only piece of advice I found on these websites for crazies that could actually be helpful was, “Realize that there’s only one thing that you can control – Yourself.” Or more eloquently put, by Victor Frankl, “When we are no longer able to change a situation, we are challenged to change ourselves. “

Far too often we get consumed by our emotions, and if you’ve ever met me you know how I feel about emotional people…For those of you who don’t know, I will quickly explain; People who wear their emotions on their sleeve repulse me. I have described myself as heartless many times (although I’ve come to realize this is actually a huge exaggeration). People have come into my life and made me realize feelings are okay, although I still don’t like to deal with them. Okay…I think that about sums it up.

So on to my point, when change happens we get caught up in the emotions of how hard it is and how not fair it is. We think these things because of what we tell ourselves via self-talk (the things that an individual says mentally to himself or herself).

If you wake up and tell yourself it’s going to be an awful day, chances are, it’s going to be an awful day. If instead you wake up and tell yourself it’s going to be a great day, it might not actually be the greatest day of your life, but I guarantee you it will be significantly better than when you tell yourself it will be awful.

Truth is, change is inevitable and a part of life, I think it’s best said by Harold Wilson, “He who rejects change is the architect of decay. The only human institution which rejects progress is the grave.”

Not only do I not want to be a architect of decay and go against the way that the human institution is set up, but if change is what betters us,

I am ready to experience it.

Standard

Leave a Reply

