Liar, Liar, Pants on Fire.

Why do we lie?

I know what your textbook or Bible Beater answer will be… “All have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.”
Yes, I know.

Not only do I know, I also agree. BUT sometimes hearing that alone doesn’t make me feel any better about getting lied to or lying to others.

I was always under the impression that lying was something I would deal with when I was a kid, not as a big girl; as if lying is something we grow out of like a pair of pants that have gotten too tight.

Even though we’re all aware of the damaging effect that lying has on others, we still do it. No matter how upstanding you think someone is, they will still deliberately tell you an untruth. In my own life I lied so much to my parents in my early years of high school that it nearly permantently ruined our relationship, thank God I snapped back to reality just in time.

So what is the root (other than Biblically) from where our acceptance for lying and deceitfulness comes from?

Either
A. We can’t bare the though of hurting someone and lying is the only way to spare someone elses feelings OR
B. Lying is percieved as a laughable thing in the media, so let’s add a little humor to our lives. OR
C. Relationships no longer hold on to that which is sacred: trust. Without trust why let someone hold your truths?

I know all of these are viable options. I also know that I am tired of being decieved and tricking myself into thinking it’s okay for me to do the same.

I love what Thomas Jefferson has to say about this subject, “… he tells lies without attending to it, and truths without the world’s believing him. This falsehood of the tongue leads to that of the heart, and in time depraves all its good dispositions.”

I’m trying to keep all of my good dispositions, in fact I think we should all try a little harder.

Standard

Leave a Reply

