I wish I were a thesaurus.

“…where alcohol flowed and the air was laced with profanity.”

These words have no particular meaning to me, but when I heard a speaker say these aloud I was captivated by the beauty of how he said them. Ever since a local Cleveland pastor spoke these words to describe his home-life as a child in chapel the other day, I haven not been able to rid them from my mind.

I started thinking about how captivating words and language can be. Then I remembered, as if it was yesterday, when I first fell in love with the spoken and written word: The year was 2004 and I was in the 8th grade. I can recall sitting in my middle school Creative Writing class listening to my teacher describe the difference between a metaphor and a simile. While my other 13 year old friends turned in their writing assignments with little to no thought, I spent nearly every minute of homework time crafting my words because it was the only homework I truly enjoyed.

Little did I know that this love of words and writing would forever be one of my greatest joys in my life.

The power of how something can be said when it’s being written in a letter is so much stronger than the first words that come pouring out of your mouth in casual conversation.

The reason that I have a blog, enjoy crossword puzzles, carry a dictionary in my car, read books, love foreign language, look up the etymology of a word I can’t understand and keep a book full of quotes by my bed is because I love how words can transform a simple thought into a much more beautiful one.

I don’t think I’ll ever stop writing…

Standard

Leave a Reply

