Love adds value.

Sometimes we have problems that consume our daily thoughts. If we’re being honest, most of us have a serious problem controlling whether or not we think those thoughts. Maybe it’s “I’m worried about my brother” or “I feel sad” or “I’m not happy with the way that I look,” but they all have one common theme: I. We allow our problems to become a pity party of feeling sorry for ourselves.

But — what if, instead of focusing so much energy on ourselves and the loneliness or hurt (etc. etc.) that we feel, we focused on helping someone else.

Now, don’t get me wrong – we do have to be introspective and help ourselves get better through hardships, but I think the cure can often be found by simply looking at the betterment of others rather than of ourselves.

At the end of the day, ask yourself this question, “How did I add value to my __________?” Fill that blank in with roommate, best friend, mom, dad, coworker, etc.

What’s your answer?

Because for me personally, the answer has been, I have added little to zero value to anyone in my life recently. I have been so focused on ridding my life of problems, in order to add value to my own life, that I haven’t been looking to the lives of the people around me.

Wasn’t the whole life of Jesus based on adding value to others? He did this by calling us His “beloved” on many occasions. He doesn’t call us that because we’ve done anything to deserve it, He calls us that simply because we exist. So if there’s some way we can remind ourselves daily of how much He loves us, then maybe we won’t focus on ourselves so much, but we’ll focus on pouring His love out on others.

I must say, I’m having a pretty hard time grasping this concept…but if I can come to a point where I understand Christ’s extravagant love for me, then maybe I can learn to love others just a little bit better.

Standard

One thought on “Love adds value.

  1. Lauren Lawrence says:

    Beautifully said my sweet girl, however, you have added a great deal of value to my life with all that you are and have become. I love you, Mom

Leave a Reply

