My boyfriend is crazy hott.

“Though we travel the world over to find the beautiful, we must carry it with us or we find it not.” -Ralph Waldo Emerson

The most effective way to get my adrenaline pumping is by traveling. So, I guess you could say I’m an adrenaline junkie.

When I’m not traveling to a new, exciting, beautiful place…I’m planning my next trip to a new, exciting, beautiful place. I live from one trip to the next.

But lately I’ve come to this realization that I can’t put all my anticipation and enthusiasm into my next adventure because, well, it’s making normal life look way too dull (and also, I’m out of vacation days).

Now, it’s not that I think there’s no potential beauty in the mundane…because I refuse to believe that God would create a place where beauty and joy couldn’t be seen and obtained in day-to-day life. But, I think that I’ve just been having a bit of trouble seeing all the good in the unadorned part of life.

As I listened to a sermon from my pastor a few days ago, it occurred to me why I’ve been finding much unrest (and a little unhappiness) in normal life, “Most of our unhappiness can be attributed to the fact that we listen to ourselves instead of talking to ourselves.” I’ve been spending a good deal of time listening to what my head naturally says, “Cleveland sucks,” “There’s nothing to do,” etc. Instead, I need to make an effort to look at the zillions of positives I can talk to myself about, “My job is awesome,” “My boyfriend is crazy hott,” etc.

It’s time I try to find beauty wherever I go (or stay). Are you with me?

Standard

2 thoughts on “My boyfriend is crazy hott.

  1. Bri says:

    Ivey!
    What you wrote is SO GOOD, and so true! I, like you, am a traveler at heart, and therefore also an “adrenaline junkie.” I have definitely wrestled with these thoughts, and have been more than ever of late…Thank you for sharing! I really loved it and needed that reminder!

    I hope you are well, it’s been a long time since I’ve seen you! 🙂

    Sincerely,
    Brianna

Leave a Reply

